plaster and glue

Going to try and post in order here so there is some sense as you look at pictures.

So these pictures are upstairs in the master bedroom and family room. We framed in a walk in closet, since there was no real closet and this room is over 200 sqft. Tore all the casings and trim from the windows. Then sheet rocked and bull nosed them so we could plaster right up to the window. The look I am going for with this is Tucson and Old World sorta blended. I love the warmth and inviting character of these styles. I have been studying it in magazines and books and every building I’m in that is of this style for about a decade. And I love it. So plaster was on the list. Just about every room in this house had a different texture on it. When we are finished, every room will be hand plastered. 

I want to make sure to not leave our children out of this story of our remodel. They are a huge part of it. From working along side of us, to taking over meals and laundry and other household chores that I normally do, they have been AMAZING!! I have loved all the conversations I have had with the older ones as we work late into the night side by side. It’s been a good growing time for our family. Honestly, it’s hard to stay grounded when your whole life feels like its been placed in a popcorn popper and then turned on. So many things to try and stay ahead of. Like…

-Staying content living in this mess.

-Not overspending our budget. (this means hunting down EVERY bargin!)

-Having patience when there are set backs.

-Keeping my children safe in all of this.

-Being creative to save money.

-Accepting the fact my clothes are all wrinkled and shoved on an old shelf

(because I have no other place to put them)

-There is not a clean room in my house. And I can’t clean up this mess.

-That Eric and I disagree on things.

(I’m right brained. The artsy, creative, free thinker. He’s left brained,

keeps track of every penny spent, sticks to the budget. The Realist)

-That some days, my water is turned off, or electric is off the whole long day.

-And on really bad days, the septic back flows out of the toilet and tub onto the floor. 

(And the one child who saw it forgot to tell me until about 3 hours later. shocked)

 

But I’m still smiling. Still thankful for this house and the vision we have for it. Praising God for all His blessings in all of this. Like a much needed trip to So Cal. 

~cheryl

PhotobucketWe had to paint this pink glue on all the walls before we could plaster. It keeps the plaster from flakingoff the already painted walls.PhotobucketHere I’m sheet rocking the windows so they can be plastered.PhotobucketThis arched window was a crazy challenge. Spwnt about 5 days trying different ways to get the sheetrock to arch inside the window. Finally bought super thin sheet rock and sprayed it with water to get it to bend without snapping or crumbling. 

Photobucket

PhotobucketThe ugly color of brown on one wall in the master bedroom. Fan is coming down too.

PhotobucketLittle workers removing carpet. Gabe is the safety inspector! LOL

PhotobucketPlastering the windows after removing the casing and trim 
PhotobucketNew Plastered Window
Photobucket
My new plasters, bull nosed windows!!
Photobucket

Josh pulling up the carpet on the stairwell 

PhotobucketJules has had to spend a lot of time in her crib. Keeps her safe and alive. She’s about as wild as she looks in this picture!!Keeps me on my toes!

Photobucket

Sleeping Gabe after a hard day of working

PhotobucketA new linen closet framed into a dead space. AWESOME!

PhotobucketEric’s Uncle Rodger. Helping with framing. 
Photobucket
Caged little children. Two are happy and one is not. laughing

Photobucket

Gabe using the Shop Vac

PhotobucketMy new walk in closet in the Master Bed

Photobucket

The new family room

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to plaster and glue

  1. amylafferty says:

    Wow. I am absolutely amazed that you are still sane while doing all of this at once. I feel like I’m going crazy when we have one project going on in our house. I can’t imagine how I’d be if we were redoing the ENTIRE house.

  2. bloggerpaul says:

    EWWW! Toilet backup. :PI really like that way of ‘not trimming’ the windows! Was plastering the curved surface of the arched window difficult?Julia’s face. She looks like she’s thinking “I may be stuck in here, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.”Love the heart on the wall! So sweet!~Paul

Leave a Reply

