guest room remodel

As I daydreamed about the guest room and what it would look like, i imagined some of the places we have stayed when we have traveled. The warm, inviting, years of stories within the walls, sorta feeling. I love color. Bright colors, bold colors, even the neutral and white colors. So I just started painting. One thing I wanted to preserve, even with all the layers of paint, was the beauty of the hand plastered walls. So that meant no rollers or paintbrushes. They all left streaks and filled in the crevices and character of the plaster. So I found a lint free cloth, dampened it, and lightly rubbed on the paint. I started with a tan base paint. Then went to a darker color called coco rum. I spread this one so lightly. Randomly. Leaving unpainted places. Then I added more colors. Yellow and orange. Rubbing paint here, wiping it off there. Slowly blending it all together.  And when all of that had dried, I went over with a cream color, accenting all the plaster marks. Wiping the paint into the crevices. Just enough to make the wall look a hundred years old. I debated to do the ceiling. I didn’t want it to look like a cave. But the white ceiling just didn’t match, so I matched it to the walls.

The window had not been replace yet in these pictures. It has since, but I’m not there to take a new picture. so later.  I put the art on the wall to protect it while we worked on the other rooms. And the chair just seemed like it should sit there in the corner for now. I have a wrought iron bed painted a cream that will go in here. and I found bedding that will wisk you away to far away places with waves lapping outside the windows and vendors in the streets selling their wares.  Bright bold colors on a white backdrop. Now, onto painting the rest of the upstairs…

 

 Cloth I used
Photobucket

Photobucket

 Photobucket

Blending colors.
Photobucket

 

 

Photobucket

 

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to guest room remodel

  1. bloggerpaul says:

    That looks really cool! How do you come up with these great ideas? When I buy a house, and can’t figure out how to make all of the colors conform to the davinci numbers (or some other left-brained idea that probably shouldn’t be applied to aesthetic things like painting walls), I’ll know who to call!

Leave a Reply

