~my granite story~

i was surfing Craigslist for some good deals for my kitchen appliances and came across an ad that said a granite shop was going out of business after 30 years and they were selling all their remnants at cost. It was about an hour from my house, so I packed up the children and set off. Mike, the owner was a super fun guy who spent four hours with Eric and I (he met me after work) helping us pick out what we needed to do all of our bathrooms and built-ins. Normally, you would go into his shop and he would help you pick out your stone, then he would fabricate it for you. But, with him wanting to retire, he is not doing anymore fabricating. Just selling off his remnants. Eric was very interested in fabricating our granite (which will save us close to $20,000!) and Mike was thrilled to teach him a few tricks of the trade. Eric is a dentist. From what I observed listening to the two of them, working on granite and stone is a lot like working on teeth. Just different scales. Granite is heavy. Very heavy. So this is the biggest obstacle. The rest is just time. Cutting, grinding, polishing. Eric is excited to teach Ben the polishing skills. And Ben is super excited to learn.  The only piece we couldn’t buy from him was for my new kitchen island. It’s big, and he had no pieces left that were big enough. That I liked. So he sent us over to the place where he purchased the slabs of granite from wholesale. This was a huge warehouse with rows of granite slabs. It was breathtaking. Granite from all over the world. Brazil, India, Canada.  We walked the isle. Slowly eliminating until we found a slab that was big enough and we both agreed beautiful to become the island top. 

The next step was getting this to our house and set up for Eric to begin work on. Mike offered to deliver it which we thought was very wise to accept. He’s been transporting granite for 30 years. He knows what he’s doing. Eric had to get a huge one ton crane to use to move the granite slabs.  Each weighs around 1500 lbs. And we had two. It took Eric and Mike 3 hours to unload his trailer. It was a very slow tedious process. I was stressed. Mike kept saying, “if the granite goes, just get out of the way!” It would be way to heavy to stop. But they did well. Not a single crack or chip when they were finished. 

I’m excited to watch Eric and the boys fabricate this granite and marble. To take it from a raw slab of stone to a beautiful countertop. But I’m definitely going to have to be patient.  Eric is thinking close to 200 hours of working on it.

 

 

 
The remnants of granite, travertine and marble that we bought.
Photobucket

 

The slabs of granite that we chose for my kitchen island and counters.

Photobucket

 

The granite being delievered.
Photobucket

The one ton crane to move it off the truck into our driveway.
Photobucket

 

Unloading.

Photobucket

 

Mike and Eric after everything was unloaded. And nothing got broke!!

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ~my granite story~

  1. mom09kids says:

    I am now curious how it gets from your driveway into your house? And how does he manuever it to work on it from that position? Hmmm, very curious. But BEAUTIFUL pieces!

  2. mysweetpeas says:

    @mom09kids – LOL!! Those are good questions! I keep asking Eric, and his reply is always “I’ve it all figured out. You just son’t worry about it.” So, I guess I will just have to wait and watch. I promise I will take pictures and post the whole process!

  3. grace_to_be says:

    i was going to ask the same.. now, how does it get from there to in the house!! 🙂 look forward to seeing the process, as i have this whole house remodel. so fun you’re doing this, though i’m sure, not fun to you most days! but, just imagine when it’s all finished!! it will be a dream home – and you’ll never want to move again. especially after all the work. ha. ;)hope your week is off to a good start friend~ cold, rainy one here. your recent shots of the beach made me want to be THERE!

  4. bloggerpaul says:

    That is a beautiful piece of granite! Where are you going to put all of the smaller pieces?I’m also wondering how it’s going to get into the house! Looking forward to pictures!Do you have cabinets the the granite to go on yet?

Leave a Reply

