~dust~

We are back home again and hard at work. We have two rooms that have tile that need to come up. Ben and Michael are my tile removing guys. I think its the loud noise of the air compressor and jack hammer that makes the job so much fun. We are still in the “Glorified Camping” setting around here. Crazy simple meals, washing dishes on the back porch, and eating at plastic tables and chairs with paper plates. It’s old. Oh, how I dream of my new kitchen everyday. But there is still much ahead of us before we are finished. Eric is still working on some electrical. The new windows need to be installed downstairs. New plaster on the walls downstairs. Paint. I’m so tired of painting. Then the flooring, which I am very excited about. I hunted high and low, up and down the whole west coast, and finally found a great deal on tumbled travertine in the versigh pattern. 15,000 pounds of it is wrapped in pallets at the shop, waiting for us to install. I’m near giddy thinking about it. And after the flooring is down…THE CABINETS!!! Which I am even more excited about than the flooring. My dear friends husband is making them for me. He has been ever so patient with me as I change my mind, bring him pictures I’ve torn out of magazines, and try to explain things I’m not even sure make sense to me. I can not wait to see his finished work. They are going to be beautiful. 

I’ve had fun chasing down bargains. Our Sears went out of business. Each week I went in and checked out the price drops. after about 5 weeks of checking and watching the cooktop that I wanted, I noticed that they had this paper taped to all the display models EXCEPT the one I wanted. So I asked the sales lady why the papers. The paper stated that the displays were not for sale as working appliances, but  fixtures. Hmmm. She called “The Boss” and he came over. “You can have it for $25.” I was stunned. Then he went on to say it might not work and that is why they were selling it as a fixture. We are talking about a $1300 Stainless Steel 5 burner gas cooktop here. The same one that the week before was $700. It looked brand new. Umm, Yes, I’ll take it. Worst cast I have a $25 paper weight. So I brought it home. $25. The best deal yet!! Eric looked it over and said all the parts were there. The electric start worked when we plugged it in. Hooray!!! And I called Dacor and asked them about it, giving them the model number. Yes, working cook top AND it came with the warranty even though I bought it as a fixture. I’m still in shock sometimes when I think about buying it!

Everywhere I look there is dust. Even when I dust something that seems like it should be dusted, even in the midst of this, like the piano, within a hour, there is more dust. Everything in this whole house is dusty. For me, this near makes me want to cry somedays. I love clean. Clean white towels folded on a shelf. Clean bathroom floors and mirrors. A kitchen that sparkles with a bouquet on the counter. A place for everything. And everything put in its right place. Now, I am well aware of the fact that 9 people live in this home, And it makes it challenging to keep it clean. And often, I have to choose to not clean or organize something because my children are more important than clean bathrooms. But this, this crazy, big, dust everywhere mess is overwhelming. And as I look at the dust everywhere, I think about some other areas that are dusty in this home right now. Like getting the children up early to read the Bible with Eric before he leaves for work. Haven’t done that since we started this. Or my quiet times. Seems like they are few and in-between. Or working with children on heart issues or attitudes. Or date nights with Eric. Or taking pictures of our life outside of this house right now. Or just playing with the children. And it makes me want to work that much harder and faster to finish here. To put our home back together. To do one last, super deep, dusting and cleaning. To go back to what normal is in this home. And I know its a season. And I know that God has and is doing great things in this home. I see fruit in our children and our family. I see God blessing us so much more than we deserve. And I am thankful. Thankful for the hurdles and challenges that we grow in. That polish us and push us out of our comfort zones. For friends that stand beside us and help us and bless us. Yes, the dust is thick, and is not done settling, but I’m not giving up. Not on God, or my children, or my husband…or this house.  

 Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Took out the pocket doors and making arches.

Photobucket

 

Helping herself to leftover pickles from dinner.

Photobucket

 

Caught!!

Photobucket

~cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~dust~

  1. redladybug18 says:

    wow a $25 cook top?!? That is such an unbelievable awesome deal! Blessings to you as you chug away on this project. It’s going to look so nice!

  2. bloggerpaul says:

    Jewel’s face is perfect!That’s quite a story. How long has it been now since your kitchen exploded (metaphorically of course)?

Leave a Reply

