~gratefulness~

When I think of this word, it makes me think I should be writing a post around Thanksgiving. But this word has been used a lot around here the past few weeks. 

Grateful for life.

Photobucket

In the matter of a few seconds, my father in law lost so many things that we take for granted every single moment of every single day. But he’s still grateful…for LIFE. We’re grateful for his life. We have painfully watched and listened to the reports of his recovery. Some doctors say he may never walk again and others say maybe with a walker. He says he will walk on his own. And we all can’t wait for that day. 

Every day, as I replay in my mind what happened that night, the accident, the phone call, the broken neck, the loss of movement of his arms and legs, I am reminded of how grateful I should be. For every single thing. For the bigger things like life, breath, the ability to move my body how and where I want to. Feeding myself. Taking a shower. Driving. Hugging a child. And then there are the smaller things. Holding something in my hand. Making a phone call. Writing this blog post. Checking the mail. The list never stops. And I am grateful. Grateful that these gifts are still a part of my life. Everyday. 

Photobucket

We have been amazed at God’s graciousness to him. All the prayers that have already been answered. And yet it can be so difficult not being grateful for what he still has. He can talk, and see, and taste, and hear, and think. All of this is each a gift in its self. As I make a list of things  I am grateful for in my father in law, it would be something like this;

~I am grateful he served our country, coming back home from war injured. 

~I am grateful that he married my mother-in-law.

~I am grateful they choose to have a second child. (my husband)

~I am grateful that he worked hard to provide for his family and protect and take care of them.

~I am grateful that he passed the baton of believing in Jesus to his son, (my husband), that his Dad had passed to him.

~I am grateful for the years of parenting a very stubborn child. For never giving up and always believing in him. (this would be Eric, just in case you’re wondering)

~I am grateful for the years that I have been his daughter-in-law.

~I am grateful for all the times that he has been around to love on my children.

~I am grateful he is still living. That we can now go and visit him. Even if it is in the sterile walls of a hospital. 

~I am grateful that in all of the pain of this he still looks to the future with optimism. That he can smile and laugh when we come and visit. That he is determined that one day he WILL get up and walk again. 

 Photobucket

 

I want to encourage you to stop and think of all that you have to be grateful for. From the biggest thing you can think of to the smallest thing. Sometimes life can seem so unfair and cruel. So much to grieve and weep over. But we are children of a God who gives us gifts and blessings every single moment of every single day. Thousands of gifts every day. And even though the sadness can seem overwhelming, there is ALWAYS a gift to be found. And God doesn’t jump up and down like a small child, saying”It’s from ME! I gave you this gift!” He sits back quietly. Waiting. Wanting our eyes turned towards Him. Gifting us over and over and over…

 

 Photobucket

 

all verses from NASB

~”Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow.” James 1:17

~”For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord”. Romans 6:23

~”Thanks be to God for His indescribable gift!” 2 Corinthians 9:15 

~”For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God;” Ephesians 2:8

 Photobucket

 

God’s greatest gift to us is eternal life. With Him. There’s always eternal life in hell. Which is separation from God.  F.O.R.E.V.E.R.  And once again, we get to make the choice. We can accept this gift. Given simply to us. Or throw it away. And when we choose to accept His gift of eternal life, it doesn’t really take the accidents or “bad things that happen” away. But it gives us hope. Joy.  Gratefulness. 

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

PhotobucketPhotobucket

 

Photobucket

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~gratefulness~

  1. bejennie says:

    Today as Erik and I await news from the doctors as to what our lives will look like, we discussed just this. The things that we are grateful for- our list is long and detailed also. Our hearts felt sadness too- for those who have a full, long and healthy lives- who don’t stop to cherish what they have. Don’t take for granted the sweetness of a peach dripping from your lips, speaking words of affirmation or kissing the ones you love- they too can be temporary. Thank you for your gratefulness post- it will probably also be my theme for my blog today too.Jennie

  2. janieloves6 says:

    beautifully written and inspiring to me. thanks for taking the time. my prayers are with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

