The Christmas decorations are all packed and put away. There is a coat of dust on everything again. We are back at this remodel. We have been patching walls, creating archways, installing new windows, tearing up old carpet and tiles. And today, as I sit here for a few moments and post this, I hear the scraping of the plaster tools, the drill mixing the powder into plaster, the slather of the plaster onto the walls. It’s thrilling. Because after the plaster is on the walls, we are so close to finishing these 3 rooms. We spend weeks preparing and getting ready for today. And all the while it looks like a construction site. But after today, (about 50 man hours!) the rooms will have a “finished” look to them. I’ll paint this week. Creating walls that look like they are in some castle or cathedral in Europe. Then we will lay the travertine. Put on the trim.

And them my favorite part! Hang pictures on the wall, shop on Craigslist (or Costco 😉 for the perfect furniture. Turn each room into what I see in my mind for that room to be. My favorite plaster guy is here today. He has painstakingly listened to my explaining and correcting and has created my walls into exactly what I want them to look like. He is fast, but careful. He has the artistic eye I need to turn these walls into works of art. 

Here’s some pictures from yesterday and then right now as they work! Grandpa Luke and Grandma Beth are here from NC and have been so helpful this last week! They currently have the older 6 children at the skate park with bikes and Laura’s new skateboard from Christmas. So blessed to have them here!!

Doughnuts for breakfast that Eric brought home and surprised us with!

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. redladybug18 says:

    wow, what a lot of work! Can’t wait to see the after pics!

  2. subway tile says:

    Nice article and great knowledge. Thanks for the share. I love this story and enjoy with your words!subway tile

  3. honey onyx says:

    That pool sure does look cloudy! Call the pool boy.honey onyx

  4. Thanks for sharing your amazing blog. I finished this right now and thinking that it is the perfect blog I was looking for . Never stop writing, and keep up such an informative blogs. Best wishes for you.Honey onyx tile

  5. Simply OUTSTANDING and stunning and glamorous, and beautiful!onyx mosaic tile

Leave a Reply

