15 Years!!

So 15 years ago, at 18 years of age, I married this man

20130929-203244.jpg
I honestly had no clue really what I was in for! I was young (barely an adult!), naive, and in love. Eric was a solider, much more mature than I, and also in love. We headed down the isle, said “I do!” and grabbed hands running and I seriously don’t think we have stopped yet! We have lived on the east coast and west coast. We’ve lived (barely survived) with a nomadic people tribe on the African equator and thrived on the crystal blue waters of the Caribbean Island where we lived on mangos, stale crackers, coconuts and chocolate. We pressed on through 3 degrees. The enlisted solider I married now has a Doctorate of Dental Surgery. A.K.A. Dentist. We’ve moved more than a dozen times. I’ve survived 7 very sick miserable pregnancies. We’ve lost one baby. We’ve fought and made up. We’ve had years of famine and years of feasting. We’ve both learned that most of our weaknesses are the others strengths. He’s super smart and I’m, well not as smart. He can remember everything, like every part of the eyelid from anatomy 10 years ago or how Jerusalem beetles mate and I’m lucky if I can remember my children’s birthdays. He can figure out how everything works and can fix it and I fix things by kicking them or throwing them in the garbage and buying a new one. He wakes up at 5:00am every morning…even on the weekends and I think morning should start at noon. He loves dark chocolate with spicy flavors and I need white chocolate with something sweet in it. I love to shop and can find a good deal anywhere, he hates shopping and will never try and bargain on anything. He loves diving with sharks at night and I take NyQuil while he’s diving with sharks so I don’t have nightmares about being eating by them. I’m more of a free spirit and think children throwing mud at each other in the rain and building tree forts out of the old deck wood is very fun and creative. He thinks it’s unruly and violates building code. I love color…lots of color. Walls, hair, nails, shoes, clothes…He would have all white walls. I somehow always pick the most expensive thing and can spend every penny in the bank. He is the frugal constant finically prudent one who wisely keeps a bank account WITHOUT my name on it and can always pay every bill AND still take me on lavish vacations. He loves talk radio. I love singing my heart out. He has the patience of Job and I am more like the dog from Up… “Squirrel!!!”. He loves to teach and I would rather clean bathrooms. (I hate cleaning bathrooms.) He loves to read and I love Pintrest.

And yet somehow, with so any many differences, we have become best friends and lovers. We are still married. We’ve grown up ALOT. We are wiser now. We shake our heads at some of the things we have done. And smile fondly at others. We dream and talk about the future. And I can’t imagine doing it with anybody else other than my husband.

20130929-215454.jpg

~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 15 Years!!

  1. Rachel Kalebaugh says:

    This is a beautiful picture of marriage! You guys are such fun people and a fantastic example for us youngins 🙂 Thanks for writing a little bit about life!!

    Rachel Kalebaugh

  2. Alyson Beck says:

    The most amazing compare and contrast essay I’ve EVER read! Well done my sister and brother, well done!

  3. Marilee Johnson says:

    15 YEARS!! No way! I love this post, Cheryl. Love the differences … love that you’re best friends . Congrats.

  4. Ali says:

    Cheryl I love you!!!! I lost touch for awhile. Congratulations! How are you?!!! You didn’t mention how your family called you depression dory in dental school! We’ll have to talk soon! Xo

Leave a Reply

