~Bridal Shoot ~

Yes, a bridal shoot….of me… 15 years after my wedding. Why? Well, let me tell you…

Wedding photography was not what we know today back in the late 90’s. That was still the days of film, where every shot mattered and you couldn’t see the picture until AFTER it was developed. And, there was no Pintrest to give you a thousand ideas of how to pose for your special day. Just however creative your photographer was or was not. We have pictures from the ceremony, and all “the shots” of the wedding party and family after the wedding, but that’s it. So about 10 years ago, after seeing a friends beautiful bridal portrait framed on her wall, I had this idea, that it would be fun to put on my wedding dress again and “recreate” a bridal shoot. But, I somehow always seemed too pregnant or too busy to ever actually get around to having it done. I even almost threw my dress away. 

Then this summer, I told Laura, who shares my love of photography, about my crazy idea to get out my dress and take some pictures…if the dress still fit. She was totally excited and agreed to help me accomplish it this summer. Then one day, her girlfriend called (who you can go and visit and check out her beautiful work here) and said she was going to shoot a wedding and renting some camera gear and needed to practice. She asked Laura if she could come down and use her as a model. As Laura and I talked about it, we both realized this was IT!!! That if we could pull together everything in 3 days, I would finally get the Bridal Shoot I had never had. 

Now, you must know that after I had my wedding day, I rolled my dress up into a ball and wrapped it in one of Eric’s green twin fitted bed sheets and stuffed it into an apple box. And it’s sat there for 15 years.  So I wasn’t sure the condition of the dress or if it would even zip up! Laura retrieved the box from the shop, and helped me try it on…and it fit…barely. Actually, it fit better now than when I was married in it. My mother had bought it years before I had ever even been engaged at a going out of business sale for $99. It was a little big on me on my wedding day, but was still wearable. When I went back and looked at my wedding pictures, it definitely wasn’t a perfect fit dress. But now, it fit quite nicely. The sequins were a little yellowed, but then I remember them already having yellowed way before my wedding day. So I took the dress to the dry cleaners, went to the bridal shop and rented a hoop, made an appt to get my hair done, and bought a bouquet of flowers from Costco to make into a bridal bouquet. (Thanks to all the tutorials on Pintrest, it turned out beautifully!) 

And then it was Thursday. I picked up my dress, all white and sparkling, made a bouquet with Laura, then we went together to get my hair done to match my wedding day style as close as possible. I came home, slipped into my dress and pulled on my absolute favorite pair of cowgirl boots (something old, something new…right??) and put on a set of pearls Eric gave me for one of our first CHristmas’s. I paid my boys to load up a couch, trunk, chaise lounge, and some other props in the truck and drove them up to the back of the property and had them set them up. I told them they got paid AFTER it was all back in the house with no scratches or tears. The day was somewhat surreal. Like something out of a movie…

Thank you Mary and Laura! You were part of helping make one of my wild and crazy dreams come true!!

ImageImageImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

 

38

 

ImageImage

 

 

Image

 

64

 

ImageImage

53

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ~Bridal Shoot ~

  1. lagunamary says:

    These are just delightful!
    God bless!

  2. lagunamary says:

    These are delightful. Eric has such a beautiful bride.
    “My beloved is mine, and I am his”

    Song of Solomon 2:16

  3. Ali says:

    You are gorgeous and I love it!!!! What a great idea. I’ve often thought how I got kind of the short end of the stick getting married before Pinterest and digital cameras for photographers and all. You look lovely!

  4. Sue Ellis says:

    Beautiful. If you ever want to do that again, call Hannah…I would love to see what she could have fun doing with you. 🙂 I miss our time together…I will call sometime soon. Love you Cheryl. Keep writing…

  5. Kristi Brown says:

    Cheryl! What fun and what a beautiful bride you are! So glad you were able to do this! Kind of fun being on the other side of the camera sometimes, huh??? 🙂 Love ya, Girl!

  6. Pamela Thorson Nikodem says:

    Absolutely beautiful just as your soul is…God bless you both…<3

  7. Kathy D. says:

    Wonderful idea! AND pictures. I’m amazed that the dress fits, after all those babies! I hope you get a large picture to frame to put over your fireplace! Kathy

  8. Awww, these are beautiful and you are beautiful! And, I remember the first time you wore that dress 😉 What a great idea. Pinterest and digital cameras definitely have improved the whole wedding and baby photography world!

  9. They are beautiful!! I love your wedding dress! And am so glad you got to do this!!

  10. Amber Smith says:

    Aw! That is a really sweet idea and I LOVE all the pictures!!!

  11. amber says:

    this was such a great idea and you look absolutely gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

