Veterans Day

I didn’t get a chance to post on Veteran’s Day, so I’m a few days late. I found this picture this last weekend as we cleaned out some storage. This is the handsome young solider I fell in love with and have the privilege of being his wife until the day I die. Thank you Eric for serving our country so passionately. Thank you to my brother in law Steve, and their father Ken, who was shot and wounded in the Vietnam War. Thank you Vern, their Grandfather who fought in World War II, and their Uncles Roger, Kenny and George. My adopted father, Luke. Thank you for the sacrifices that have been made to this family to preserve our freedom!
I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to grow up next to an Army and Air Force Base. I believe it gave me a sense of pride and love for this country that seems hopelessly lost everywhere else I have lived. I remember Dessert Storm, and how it seemed like overnight Ft. Bragg turned into a ghost town. Everywhere you looked you could find a yellow ribbon tied to a tree or store front or antenna of a car. I remember days there would be “bombing” which meant they would “play” war and practice shooting artillery. Our whole house would shake as they fired cannons. I remember so many families that had to say goodbye to their solider who was a husband or wife, Daddy or Mommy as they left for deployments that would last up to a year. I remember the American Flags that flew high and grande and could be seen on most front porches. The soldiers in uniform in every store or restaurant you were at. I remember 4th of July’s, where the entire day was one gigantic celebration. We would watch staged air assaults where they would fly in helicopters and drop off ropes to the ground and the soldiers would descend and rescue wounded soldiers and then carry them off tied to the ropes hanging out of the helicopter. The ARMY 82nd Airborne band would play in the bandstand every patriotic song you could imagine. One year they brought in Lee Greenwood and he sang “I’m proud to be an American”. I remember feeling like my heart was going to burst out of my chest because I was so proud to stand there and proclaim my loyalties to this grand country, The United States of America, with thousands of others. I still love to sing that song! And then there were the fireworks….my oh my!!! It was definitely the grandest fireworks shows I have ever seen in my whole life.
We said the Pledge of Allegiance every day in the public schools I attended. Everybody, and I mean everybody would remove their hat and salute our Flag, or put their hand over their heart when the National Anthem was sung or the Pledge of Allegiance recited. You just did it out of respect. I want to cry when we go to the racetrack or the rodeo now and I look around at people talking and carrying on with no respect at all to our Flag or National Anthem. My children know the history of this country because I believe it is part of their heritage and I don’t want it lost with their generation. They can sing the National Anthem and say the Pledge of Allegiance. They know to show respect, you take off your hat and place your right hand over your heart. We thank every solider or veteran we meet for their service and sacrifices made.
And so I want to close this post with just that. Thank you to every man and woman who has given their time and lives so that I may live in a free country! I am more grateful than any words could ever express! Thank you to every family that has paid the high price of having your loved ones serve in our Military.

20131122-022419.jpg
“Proud to be an American” Lee Greenwood
~Cheryl

About dazzlingingrace

Hmm.. I love Jesus. I love my husband, Eric. I love my 8 beautiful children. I loved living in California. I love sunshine and the beach. Shopping at farmers market and the little stores downtown where I can bargin for the best deal. I love to sew and make things. I love spending time with girlfriends encouraging each other. Date nights with Eric are fabulous. I love ballroom dancing with him. The smell of my new little baby and the miracle of their existance. I love italian food- or just about all of Italy for that matter. I love art- paintings on my wall that I know personally who painted them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

